Hammad's Linux Blog

Stuff about Linux ...

Tuesday, September 12, 2006

RedHat Linux

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (often abbreviated to RHEL) is a Linux distribution produced by Red Hat and targeted toward the commercial market, including mainframes. Red Hat commits to supporting each version of RHEL for 7 years after its release. All of Red Hat's official support, and all of Red Hat's training and certification for hardware and software deployment — Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT), Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE), Red Hat Certified Security Specialist (RHCSS) and Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA) — center on the Red Hat Enterprise Linux platform.
New versions of RHEL are released every 18 to 24 months. When Red Hat releases a new version of RHEL, customers may upgrade to the new version at no additional charge as long as they are in possession of a current subscription (e.g. the subscription term has not yet lapsed).
Red Hat's first Enterprise offering (Red Hat Linux 6.2E) essentially consisted of a version of Red Hat Linux 6.2 with different support levels, and without separate engineering.
The first version of RHEL to bear the name originally came onto the market as "Red Hat Linux Advanced Server". In 2003 Red Hat rebranded Red Hat Linux Advanced Server to "Red Hat Enterprise Linux" (RHEL) AS, and added two more variants, RHEL ES and RHEL WS.

As of 2005 Red Hat distributed four variants of RHEL:
RHEL AS (advanced
server) – for larger computer systems
RHEL ES (edge server or entry-level server) – for medium systems
RHEL WS (workstation) – for personal
power-user desktops
Red Hat Desktop – for
client-oriented single-user use
There are also "Academic" editions of the Desktop and Server variants. They are offered to schools and students, are less expensive, and are provided with Red Hat technical support as an optional extra. Web support based on number of customer contacts can be purchased separately.
People sometimes mistakenly refer to ES as "
Enterprise Server", in contrast to AS (Advanced Server). This may be because Novell has a server distribution called SUSE Linux Enterprise Server (SLES). Also, nowhere on its site or in its literature does Red Hat say what the abbreviations AS, ES and WS stand for.


  • At 1:16 AM, Blogger A. S. Tolba said…

    Very well done. Please try to update it on a regular basis. It will be a very helpful reseource for all people.

    Prof. A. S. Tolba


Post a Comment

<< Home